High School Assessment

Years 7 and 8

Assessment is conducted on a continuous basis with one internal examination at the end of the year. This exam is to prepare students for future IGCSE examinations. School results are calculated based on 60% formative assessments and 40% summative assessments. Project work is a major part of learning especially in Humanities and Science. In Year 8, students take the Cambridge Checkpoint Exam as a diagnostic tool to predict student performance in future IGCSE study. This helps us to place students in the appropriate stream, support them into Years 9 and 10 and to provide a benchmark to measure future progress.

Internal Assessment

The school will be using an ongoing internal assessment programme. Teachers will be able to keep a record of each student, showing their progress in any or all learning areas. The assessment will indicate at what AusVELS level the student is at and whether the student is acquiring information at the appropriate level. It can also show areas of strength and weakness and help teachers to plan what should be introduced next.

The school issues individual student reports at the end of each semester and a brief interim progress chart every half semester. Parents can meet their child's teacher to discuss their child's progress at the Parent/Teacher meetings.

External Assessment

Each year the Australian National Assessment Program (NAPLAN) assesses achievements of Year 3, 5 and 7 students in English and Mathematics. However, there are no external assessments in Year 8, but student achievements are scrutinised carefully and based on the results achieved, students are streamed into core and extended groups of the different IGCSE subjects in Year 9.


Years 9 and 10

For Year 9 and 10, assessment consists of continuous testing and internal examinations for school reporting purposes. In addition, Cambridge external examinations are conducted in May and June for Year 10.

Assessment for Cambridge IGCSE usually takes place at the end of the two-year course and includes written and oral tests, coursework and practical assessment. Schools have the option of assessing learners using only external examinations or, in most subjects, combining examinations with coursework. Coursework is set and marked by the teacher and externally moderated by CIE.

Teachers who have received training from CIE, or who possess suitable experience of marking coursework may carry out this assessment. In most subjects there is a choice between core and extended curricula, making IGCSE suitable for a wide range of abilities. Each learner’s performance is benchmarked using eight internationally recognised grades. There are clear guidelines which explain the standard of achievement for different grades. Cambridge IGCSE examination sessions occur twice a year, in May/June and October/November. Results are issued in August and January.

All IGCSE subjects constitute two years of study culminating in final examinations. Grading ranges between A* and G. Grade A* is awarded for the highest level of achievement, and grade G indicates minimum satisfactory performance. Students who appear for the core component can only achieve grades between C and G. Most students who go on to pursue Advanced Levels will require a minimum of grade B or C.

The International Certificate of Education (ICE - which is a group certificate) will be awarded to those students who have passed in at least seven subjects, including two languages and five other subjects selected from each of the key learning areas.

The CLAiT examinations are held in the school and assessed internally. However, they are moderated and certified externally.


Years 11 and 12

For Years 11 and 12, assessment consists of continuous testing and internal examinations for school reporting purposes. At the beginning of Year 11, students take the Alis test as a diagnostic tool to predict student performance in future A-Level study. This helps us to place studen